All That Man Is

Author(s): David Szalay

Books for Grown-ups

These are brilliantly observed, large-hearted stories by a young writer that herald the introduction to a North American audience a major and mature literary talent. For readers of David Bezmozgis, Nathan Englander, Neil Smith, John Cheever, and Milan Kundera.
In this stunningly accomplished work, award-winning author David Szalay explores the terrain of manhood. Inhabited by characters at different stages in their lives, ranging from the teenage years to old age, this virtuoso collection portrays men in utterly real and compelling terms as they grapple with relationships and masculinity. Set in various European cities, the stories are dark and disturbing, some almost surreal, but always with accute psychological insight that renders them fascinating. They deal with pride and greed, jealousy and love, grief and loneliness. Funny and heart-achingly sad, sometimes shocking, because the stories are invariably true to life, this is a collection to be read and savoured.

From the Hardcover edition.


Product Information

Winner of Gordon Burn Prize 2016. Shortlisted for Gordon Burn Prize 2016 and Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2016.

"David Szalay pushed at the fault lines between the novel and short story form in All That Man Is linked tales of European masculinity in crisis, whose effect is monumentally bleak, but which contain some of the best prose to be found in English this year." -- Justine Jordan Guardian Books of the Year "Szalay's writing is exact and true and always subtly intelligent; this book is bracing and thrilling and chilling." -- Tessa Hadley "It's a rare and wonderous event when a novel changes the way you look at the world around you; and this was the case with [All That Man Is]... A worthy winner of the Gordon Burn Prize this year. Gordon Burn would have loved it. Say no more." -- William Boyd New Statesman, Book of the Year "There is everything to relish about this intelligent, moving, thoroughly European search for the meaning of life ... It's hard to imagine reading a better book this year." -- Melissa Katsoulis Times "This feels like a great novel driven by its overarching theme: what is my life, here and now, all about? ... Rarely has it been so brilliantly and chillingly spelled out." -- John Harding Daily Mail

David Szalay is the author of three previous novels: Spring, The Innocent and London and the South-East, for which he was awarded the Betty Trask and Geoffrey Faber Memorial prizes. Raised in London, he has lived in Canada and Belgium, and is now based in Budapest. In 2013 he was named as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists.

General Fields

  • : 9780099593690
  • : Random House
  • : Vintage
  • : April 2017
  • : 19.80 cmmm X 13.50 cmmm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 448
  • : Paperback
  • : David Szalay